Complete Body Nutrition

Live longer, healthier and happier

Yoga Teacher Training

1 Comment

costa rica

As most of you know I recently spent 5 weeks in Costa Rica with the majority of that time spent with a wonderful group of people doing my Yoga Teacher Training. I just wanted to write about my time there and really encourage anyone who has thought about taking this training to go and do it.
The Yoga Teacher Training was something that I have been talking about and wanted to do for a few years now but like most humans on the planet, it was hard to make it a priority. I can honestly say that once I decided to do it all the pieces just fell into place and there was no stopping me.

At one point I considered going to India to do my training but after putting a lot of time and research into I decided to do my training with Troy McPeak from Peak Beings either in Costa Rica or Hawaii. I am sooo glad I did. He’s been doing these training for a while now and it was very evident in how organized and smoothly everything was taught and learned. We had 2 hours of yoga practice every morning, followed by breakfast and a break, then a couple hours of theory, anatomy, and practice teaching, than another break and then before dinner we had another couple hours of theory, anatomy, and practice teaching. I found that the format worked really well. I really thought it was important to learn about anatomy so when I found out that was a part of the training I was excited. Troy has developed a text book with each pose, full descriptions, contraindications, what parts of the body is works even what chakra’s the poses focused on. I love the book and it will be (and already has been) a very valuable reference guide.

Accommodations were really neat, we lived literally in the jungle complete with animals and insects, torrential down pours and the coolest sounding monkeys I’ve ever heard. Let me just say that if I didn’t know what a Howler Monkey was and I was walking through the jungle It would be terrifying!!!! Seriously, if you don’t believe me, youtube it. It’s intense!!

The people I met during my time in YTT was also a huge part of the experience. I definitely met some people who will be in my life forever.

Jen – I already have a trip planned to go to Toronto at the end of June to see this amazing girl!! We had an immediate connection and it only got stronger as the days past. It was like I’ve known her forever. Almost instantly we had all kinds of inside jokes and were always laughing and carrying on and having an absolute ball. Jen will most certainly be in my life forever!!!

Sophia – I shared a room with a girl from Mexico who was truly an amazing person with an absolutely beautiful soul (not to mention how amazing her yoga practice was), she would encourage me to speak Spanish then laugh her head off at my accent and I would get her to talk like Gloria from Modern Family. LOL I Miss Sophia all the time!!

Krystyna –One of the most inspiring people I’ve ever met. She has immense strength, determination and will power but also has one of the gentlest souls I’ve encountered. I hope to be able to go and visit her in DC some day or that she can come up here to see me.

I could go on and on about each person that I had the pleasure of getting to know. Everyone was soo different but we all got along so well. I love each and everyone one of them and genuinely hope our paths cross again in the future.

To wrap this up I just want to say Life is short, make the time you have here count. There will always be something that you can say “oh I’ll go once the visa bill is paid off” or “once the kids are done college” There will always be bills, (trust me they will wait for you to come home :)) Stop making excuses and do something for yourself. It was the best decision I’ve made so far in my life and something I will be grateful for and cherish for the rest of my life.
Thank you to everyone who made this a possibility for me. I am blessed.

One thought on “Yoga Teacher Training

  1. Such a great Article Alicia!…..the training wouldn’t have been what it was without you there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

